2023 MLS SuperDraft: Clemson’s Hamady Diop becomes Charlotte FC’s No. 1 pick

Clemson guard Hammadi Diop was selected No. 1 overall by Charlotte FC in Wednesday’s MLS Super Draft.

Los Angeles FC’s Cristian Arango (9) lifts the MLS Supporters’ Shield following the match against Nashville SC at Banc of California Stadium. LAFC won the Supporters’ Shield after finishing the 2022 season with the most points.

MLS expansion St. Louis City SC lost its No. 1 spot in exchange for a first-round pick (plus a $400,000 general allocation) with last season’s expansion Charlotte FC.

Charlotte FC selected Ben Bend out of Maryland State in the 2022 draft, the first pick in back-to-back drafts. This is the first time a team has back-to-back No. 1 picks since DC United took Alecko Eskandarian and Freddy Adu first overall in the 2003 and 2004 drafts.

MLS announced a new sponsorship deal with Adidas.

The 6-foot, 186-pound Diop is a second-team selection for both the 2021 and 2022 seasons.

The 2023 MLS SuperDraft will feature three rounds.

2023 MLS SuperDraft first-round pick

1. Charlotte FC (from St. Louis SC) — Hamady Diop, defender, Clemson

2. Orlando City SC (from DC United) — Shakur Mohammed, forward, Duke

3. Colorado Rapids (from Toronto FC) — Moise Bombito, defender, New Hampshire

4. New England Revolution (from San Jose Earthquakes) — Joshua Bolma, midfielder, Maryland

5. Vancouver Whitecaps FC (from Houston Dynamo FC) — J.C. Ngando, midfielder, UNC Greensboro

6. Orlando City SC (from Chicago Fire FC) — Duncan McGuire, forward, Creighton

7. Real Salt Lake (from Atlanta United FC) — Ilijah Paul, forward, Washington

8. Sporting Kansas City — Stephen Afrifa, forward, Florida International

9. St. Louis City SC (from Seattle Sounders FC) — Owen O’Malley, midfielder, Creighton

10. San Jose Earthquakes (from New England Revolution) — Daniel Munie, defender, Indiana

11. Nashville SC (from Charlotte FC) — Joey Skinner, defender, Clemson

12. Charlotte FC (from Colorado Rapids) — Patrick Agyemang, forward, Rhode Island

13. Austin FC (from Vancouver Whitecaps FC through Houston Dynamo FC) — CJ Fodrey, midfielder, San Diego State

14. Columbus Crew — Maximilian Arfsten, forward, San Jose Earthquakes II

15. Portland Timbers — Noel Caliskan, midfielder, Loyola Marymount

16. Real Salt Lake — Bertin Jacquesson, forward, Pittsburgh

17. Orlando City SC — Abdi Salim, defender, Syracuse

18. Inter Miami CF — Cole Jensen, goalkeeper, Xavier

19. Minnesota United FC — Ryen Jiba, defender, Union Omaha

20. Austin FC (from Nashville SC through Charlotte FC and St. Louis SC) — Valentin Noel, midfielder, Pittsburgh

21. New York Red Bulls — Elian Haddock, goalkeeper, Yale

22. FC Cincinnati — Joey Akpunonu, defender, Bowling Green

23. Los Angeles Galaxy — Gino Vivi, forward, Central Florida

24. FC Dallas — Herbert Endeley, forward, Indiana

25. Real Salt Lake (from CF Montréal) — Emeka Eneli, forward, Cornell

26. New York City FC — Malcolm Johnston, midfielder, Maryland

27. Columbus Crew (from Austin FC through Houston Dynamo FC) — Xavier Zengue, defender, Dayton

28. Philadelphia Union—Holden Trent, goalkeeper, High Point

29. Vancouver Whitecaps FC (from Los Angeles FC) — Levonte Johnson, forward, Syracuse


We may earn a commission when you buy something from links on this page.

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a way for websites to earn advertising revenues by advertising and linking to Amazon.com